Exercise 1

 

Sushi. On my 1500 calorie diet, I eat it almost daily. Always around lunch, almost always with shellfish. It’s become a habit, and now the cashier–an older women with a round face–has started recognizing me. I place my order for the “Chef’s Special,” a roll of shrimp tempura, crab, and cucumber.

There it is before me. The roll of sticky, white rice and nori is filled with the cucumber and shrimp. Two crispy, battered tails come at the end of both rows. A light pink, stringy meat is on top. This is the meat of the crab legs, drizzled in a rich oyster sauce.

I go through the motions of how I would typically eat this. I use the tip of my wooden chopsticks to find the slice in the roll, wedging through the maze of sweet crab meat. I start at the closer roll, from tip to tail, then move to the other. I don’t like the garnishes, so I carefully peel off any wasabi or pickled ginger I find to be too powerful a portion.

Depending on my mood, I may dip a corner of the slice I’m holding into orange or oyster sauce, but the roll I have today seems better without any additional condiments. When I reach the last pieces of each row, I set aside my chopsticks. Instead, I pick up the sushi by the tail, taking a bite of the sweet, fishy delicacy before me.

===============

Sushi. On my 1500 calorie diet, I eat it almost daily. Always around lunch, always with shellfish. It’s become a habit, and now the cashier–an older women with a smiling, round face–has started recognizing me. I place my order for the “Chef’s Special.”

There it is before me. The roll of sticky rice and thin seaweed filled with cucumber and fried shrimp. Two crispy, battered tails come at the end of both rows. A sweet, stringy meat is on top. This is the meat of crab legs, drizzled in dark oyster sauce.

I go through the motions of how I would typically eat this. The tip of my wooden chopsticks find the slice in the roll, wedging through the maze of crab meat. I start at the closest roll, from tip to tail, then move to the other. I don’t like the garnishes, so I carefully peel off any wasabi or pickled ginger I find.

Depending on my mood, I may dip a corner of the slice I’m holding into more oyster sauce or spicy orange mayonnaise, but the roll I have today seems better without any additional condiments. When I reach the last pieces of each row, I set aside my chopsticks. Instead, I pick up the sushi by the tail, taking a bite of the delicacy before me.

Leave a Reply

